Coon Rapids-Andover set for LLWS debut, a day later than scheduled

They'll play Bowling Green, KY Friday afternoon following Thursday rainout

Mark Freie
August 15, 2019 - 7:44 am

Evan Habeeb - USA TODAY Sports


The wait lasted a little longer than expected for Minnesota's return to the Little League Baseball World Series in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

Thursday night's scheuduled game between Coon Rapids-Andover and  Kentucky's Bowling Green Eastern LL from the Great Lakes Region was rained out.

They'll try to get the opener in on Friday at 12:00 p.m., with the game airing on ESPN.

Coon Rapids-Andover qualified for the international tournament last Saturday, beating Iowa 8-6, becoming just the third Minnesota team to get to the Little League World Series since 2001. Other Minnesota teams to reach the Little League World Series are the Coon Rapids-Andover All-Stars from 2007, and the Plymouth-New Hope All-Stars from 2010.

Greg Bloom is Minnesota's manager and told WCCO's Dave Lee on Monday that he had a feeling about this year's team.

"We kind of had a feeling in June when we started practicing that we had a chance to make it," Bloom said. "We knew we could make it to Williamsport."

The team's made up of 13 boys, and one girl, Maddie Freking. Freking is is the 19th girl to appear in the Little League World Series and the first Minnesota girl to appear at the series since Krissy Wendell in 1994. Wendell later had a remarkable hockery career with the Gophers and became a team captain for the U.S. national team.

"It's every kid's dream to play in Williamsport," Bloom said. "It's even my dream and I'm 40."

A GoFundMe fundraiser was started to help offset costs of traveling to Williamsport. All the money raised will be split evenly between the Coon Rapids-Andover players.

If Minnesota beats Kentucky, they'll face either the New England Region or the Southeast Region. If they lose the opener they will play an elimination game, needing a win to remain in the tournament. 

Here is the roster for Coon Rapids-Andover:

  • Jameson Kuznia
  • Cayden Alphin
  • Maddie Freking
  • Jack Brandl
  • Drew Law
  • Carson Timm
  • Jaxon Knutson
  • Wyatt Myers
  • Logan Nistler
  • Lukas Squier
  • Brett Buettner
  • Cameron Sakry
  • Tyler Phillips
  • Dylan Bloom
Comments ()