Gopher M

Gophers-Oregon State super regional starts on Friday

Gophers haven't gotten this far in baseball NCAA's since 1977

June 02, 2018 - 7:47 am

The Gophers and Oregon State square off in the NCAA baseball best-of-three super regional starting Friday afternoon in Corvallis, Oregon.

The Gophers earned the spot by sweeping its first-round regional at Siebert Field, clinching with a 13-8 win over UCLA on Sunday night.

The Beavers ousted LSU 12-0 to win its regional, and will return to their home park, Goss Stadium at Coleman Field, for the super regional

This is the first appearance in the super regionals for the Gophers. The format was created for the 1999 NCAA baseball tournament.

Here is the schedule:

Friday, Gophers at Oregon State, 4 p.m. CDT

Saturday, Gophers at Oregon State, 8:30 p.m. CDT

If necessary; Sunday, Gophers at Oregon State., 8 p.m. CDT

All super regional games are scheduled for broadcast on ESPN2.

   In Sunday's win, Boxwell's two-run homer gave the Gophers a 7-5 lead in the third inning, and he drove in two more runs with a double in a six-run fourth that broke open the game.

   Toby Hanson also had a three-run homer for Big Ten champion and No. 14 national seed Minnesota (44-13).

   Twins first-round draft pick Trevor Larnach is one of the top players for the Beavers (47-10) , who are ranked No. 2 in the poll behind only top-rated Florida. 

   Minnesota is 11th in that same poll.

   The winner of the super regional heads to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.

   The last time the Gophers appeared in the eight-team college baseball national tournament was 1977.

   That team was coached by Dick Siebert, the namesake of the Gophers' home stadium.

   One of the players was current Twins manager and baseball Hall of Famer Paul Molitor. He and teammate Dan Morgan were first-team all-Americans.

   That Gopher team went 1-2 in the College World Series, losing to Cal State-Los Angeles in the opening round before rebounding to edge Baylor in 11 innings. They were eliminated by Arizona State.

Content from the Associated Press is included in this article.