Minnesota's First Class For the High School Basketball Hall Of Fame

Fourteen Inductees To Be Honored Tonight At Timberwolves Game


The first class of the new Minnesota high school basketball Hall of Fame is inducted Monday, and will also be honored during ceremonies at halftime of the Timberwolves game against Memphis. The Wolves and Lynx are partners in the creation of the hall, which will be housed at Target Center.

The class of 2018 includes players, coaches, and basketball advocates whose careers span nine decades. The induction takes place at 4:00pm at the Wolves and Lynx practice facility in Mayo Clinic Square, across 1st Avenue from Target Center.  WCCO's Dave Lee will be the emcee of the ceremony.  

Among the first 14 inductees is Mark Olberding, who was the star center for Melrose in the early 1970's.  "I was very fortunate," Olberding told Sid Hartman, Dave Mona, and Mike Max on WCCO's Sports Huddle. "We had about a five-year run at Melrose, and had some good players, some good coaching. I was very fortunate to be a part of it.  I think we went to state three years in a row when I was there, and we finally won it when I was a senior."

Olberding now lives in San Antonio, Texas, the host of this year's Final Four.  

Here is the list of inductees for the Minnesota high school basketball Hall of Fame's first class:

Bob McDonald, coach at McGregor, Barnum, and Chisholm

Jim McIntyre, Minneapolis Henry

Ron Johnson, New Prague

Mark Olberding, Melrose

Kevin McHale, Hibbing

Randy Bruer, Lake City

Khalid El-Amin, Minneapolis North

Dorothy McIntyre, MSHSL associate director

Myron Glass, coach at Rochester Lourdes

Faith Johnson Patterson, coach at Minneapolis North, De La Salle, Eden Prairie, and Minneapolis Edison

Janet Karvonen-Montgomery, New York Mills

Lindsey Whalen, Hutchinson

1960 Edgerton boy's basketball team

1929-1939 Grand Meadow girl's basketball team

Here is the entire interview with Mark Olberding from Sunday's Sports Huddle on WCCO Radio 

Comments ()