Joe Nathan closes the deal on Twins Hall of Fame; Jerry Bell joins him

Hall announcement made during opening day of TwinsFest

WCCO Radio Newsroom
January 26, 2019 - 7:39 am
Twins Hall of Famer Joe Nathan

USA Today Sports Images

The newest members of the Twins Hall of Fame are former closer Joe Nathan and long-time executive Jerry Bell.

The announcement came Friday during the opening day of TwinsFest at Target Field.

Nathan pitched seven seasons for the Twins, coming over from San Francisco in a trade that sent AJ Pierzynski to the Giants. 

He picked up a club-record 260 saves along with 24 wins and a 2.16 earned run average while making the American League All-Star team four times. 

Bell became the Twins' third-ever team president in 1987, and spent the next 16 years as the tema's chief executive. He was instrumental in getting Target Field built.

“The Pohlad family and entire Minnesota Twins organization would like to offer congratulations to Joe Nathan and Jerry Bell on their well-deserved election to the Twins Hall of Fame,” Twins President & CEO Dave St. Peter said. “Joe and Jerry both made significant contributions to the Twins organization over an extended period of time. Election to the Twins Hall of Fame only further cements their place among the greats of this franchise.”

Both Nathan and Bell will be honored the weekend of August 3-4 at Target Field when the Twins host Kansas City.

Here is a list of Twins Hall of Fame members:

  • Infielder Harmon Killebrew
  • Infielder Rod Carew
  • Outfielder Tony Oliva
  • First baseman Kent Hrbek
  • Outfielder Kirby Puckett
  • Owner Calvin Griffith
  • Broadcaster Herb Carneal
  • Pitcher Jim Kaat
  • Pitcher Bert Blyleven
  • Manager Tom Kelly
  • Outfielder Bob Allison
  • Public address announcer Bob Casey
  • Catcher Earl Battey
  • Oowner Carl Pohlad
  • Pitcher Frank Viola
  • Shortstop Zoilo Versalles
  • Third baseman Gary Gaetti
  • Farm director Jim Rantz
  • Pitcher Rick Aguilera
  • Farm and scouting director George Brophy
  • Pitcher Brad Radke
  • Sshortstop Greg Gagne
  • Pitcher Jim Perry
  • Pitcher Camilo Pascual
  • Pitcher Eddie Guardado
  • Director of media relations Tom Mee
  • Second baseman Chuck Knoblauch (elected but not inducted)
  • Radio broadcaster John Gordon
  • Outfielder Torii Hunter
  • Outfielder Michael Cuddyer
  • General manager Andy MacPhail
  • Pitcher Johan Santana
Comments ()